Magic. It’s just magic. Sorry to disappoint you.

This seems to happen to me often: I’m at work (the daytime one) and someone calls my line from one of our customer service departments, “I have someone on the line who can’t <do x>, can you help them? I can’t figure out what’s going on.”. Ok, sure. The person comes on the line and I ask them to walk me through what they’ve been trying. Inevitably, 9 times out of 10, it works fine. “Oh! It worked. I don’t know why it didn’t work before but it looks like it’s working now. What did you do?”.

I do fess up “Nothing. I didn’t do anything. I guess whatever it was was just temporary.” (“just temporary” being, of course, help desk slang for “some dumbass thing you did but won’t admit to, right?”). The truth is, though, since they came on the phone I was throwing high magic spells at the server and that’s what I did. MAGIC.